CFDA Announces 2008 Nominees

I'm a little behind in posting some of my finds about the fashion world. But I did past an article below from Fashion Wire Daily (FWD).

• • • • • •
Renata Espinosa
March 11th, 2008 @ 4:13 PM - New York

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) announced the nominees for the 2008 CFDA Fashion Awards on Monday night, March 10, at an event hosted by Swarovski at Rockefeller Center.

The awards, which will be on held June 2 at the New York Public Library, are among the highest honors for an American fashion designer to receive.

There were few surprises in the announcement, however, with most designers having received nominations in previous years. In some cases, like the Womenswear Designer of the Year category, all three designers who were nominated - Francisco Costa of Calvin Klein, Marc Jacobs, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler - received that award in years past (Costa in 2006, Jacobs in 1997 and McCollough and Hernandez shared the award last year with Oscar de la Renta).

In the Menswear category, Thom Browne, who won in 2006, returned to the ballot. Tom Ford and Michael Bastian were the other two designers named.

Marc Jacobs received a second nomination this year for Accessory Designer of the Year; he has done well in this category, winning in 2003 and in 2005 for his Marc by Marc Jacobs line. Also nominated were Tory Burch and Michael Kors.

Swarovski, who underwrites the awards, also sponsors three special awards for emerging design talent. The nominees this year for the Swarovski Award for Womenswear were Kate & Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte, Thakoon Panichgul, and Alexander Wang. For the Swarovski Award for Menswear, Patrik Ervell, Tim Hamilton and Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders were nominated and in Accessory Design, Philip Crangi, Justin Giunta for Subversive Jewelry and Joy Gryson.

Other honorees on June 2 include Carolina Herrera, for the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg for the CFDA Board of Directors' Special Tribute, Candy Pratts Price for the Eugenia Sheppard Award and Dries Van Noten for the International Award.



Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails